Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Molly had a way of upsetting me. She had a habit of resisting just about everything I told her to do and anytime she decided to tag along with me in the car it could be dangerous for us both… but mostly me.

I slowly rolled up to the stop sign. Now that the car was stopped I could give her my full attention… and I did. Molly sat, arms folded and eyes narrowed giving every indication she wasn’t going to budge. I was mid-sentence in my rage at her not wanting to pull the plug on…

A horn honked and I was forced back to reality. Again I had been caught appearing to argue with… an empty seat.

Does this happen to all writers?

looking forward to tomorrow

What is true in life is also true in writing.

Like real life friendships, our characters need to be nourished with time and effort to grow. I find my characters need to be dynamic, full of life and a little quirky. After all, if I don’t want to spend time with them why would a reader?

As the post-it note attached to my computer screen reminds me…

No milk toast characters allowed.

(Molly ended up not pulling the plug on Angie. She was even more devious than I thought possible.)

