Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s easy to do… letting those little mistakes slip by.

what tpyo?Many times I look at my words in astonishment. I think they are brilliant and must be shared with the world immediately. I’ll read through a couple of times quickly. After all I know what I wanted to say and sure enough, my mind plays along by reading exactly what I wanted to say, not necessarily what I actually wrote. Thinking everything looks good I publish! Only to find out later my work looks as if I might possibly be in the third grader posing as an adult.

Today I rejoiced in the fact that I’m not alone. This morning as I read through my Facebook news feed, Melissa Hart’s name scrolled into view. She wrote Gringa: A Contradictory Girlhood and describes herself as an author, essayist and teacher… she’s a professional with a fine tuned sense of humor. I was fortunate to meet her once and hear her speak. Back to Facebook…

Melissa Hart wrote: “In my sleep-deprived state, I’m terrified I’ll make a typo like the time I wrote that a war journalist was in Afghanistan searching for missing IUDs.  What’s your worst typo?  Please share . . . it’ll make me feel better.”

Rachel Bucci responded: “When I type out my title for one of my clients, I’ve written “Media & Pubic Relations” – Yikes! I learned to check that one VERY closely after that. Hasn’t happened since. 🙂 “
Proofreading my next brilliant writing effort? Definitely a higher priority.
proofreading mug

 (Any typos found in this post? Take it up with the third grader who wrote it.)

