My first attempt at Wednesday’s Blog Hop

1) Use the photo and the 5 words provided in your story

2) Keep your word count 500 words or less.

3) You have until next Tuesday to link up your post.

4) Link up with your blog hostess (Nicole, Carrie, Tena or Leanne) when you’re done via the inLinkz linky below.

5) Have fun, don’t stress, let those creative juices flow.

Using the words passport, sunrise, carousel, travel, school and this

Photo by Kristoffer Sorensen:

Blog Hop August

Rock. Paper. Scissors. A stupid game with my brother Jason won me the job of driving Great Grandma Nonnie home from our family dinner. Jason gave me his ‘in your face loser’ wave and smile as I shuffled Nonnie into the car.

I love her but dang, she’s so old and we have nothing in common. She doesn’t like my music and I don’t like silent car rides.

We rounded the bend into the two block span of Bayview proper when Nonnie’s right hand reached up to the car window as her left hand reached over to pat my knee startling me. I looked down at her aged hand as I heard, “For land sake. It’s Petey Pirate. Pull over, dear.”

Following her gaze I saw the pirate statue peering out of the old blue building. “His parrot is gone but that’s him sure as I’m sitting here.” Nonnie’s voice softened as she continued to talk to no one in particular. “We used to stand by Petey over on the dock pretending to be pirates. Pirates were full of adventure and there wasn’t much of that in this little town.”

I’d never thought of Nonnie being a child. It startled and intrigued me.

“There was no time for adventure. Too many chores and school. Mother always told me to mind my studies, that would be my passport to travel, not being a pirate. Nonnie chuckled. Curiosity caught me off guard. “What’s so funny Nonnie?” I had to ask.

“We didn’t have much and there wasn’t much to do in a fishing community. My Poppa and Father worked hard to put food on the table. They left the docks at sunrise every morning because they loved us. Being a child I didn’t know this till much later in life.” She went silent as her memory retreated to a private place again.

I pulled away from the curb and back into the summer traffic. Nonnie’s eyes no longer looked old, but rather sad as moisture gathered along her lower lashes. Dabbing her eyes with a hankie she looked towards the water and docks.

“I wonder whatever happened to the little carousel that used to be over there.” She said aloud knowing I had no answer. “Each week we’d go there after getting our penny candy. We’d have just enough money left for one person to ride.” Nonnie’s wrinkles shifted up into a knowing smile.

“What’s going on in your head?” I asked.

“Your Uncle Benny never did figure it out.” She let out a chuckle.

“I’ll bite,” I said, “What did you do?”

“We’d play Rock, Paper, Scissors to see who would get the ride. I always let Benny win. He loved to ride the seahorse even if it only traveled in circles. How could I deny him the joy of his imagination?”

It was my turn to smile as I saw Nonnie through new eyes. Perhaps Jason wasn’t the winner after all.

(491 words)

